FAQ

What is an alternative analysis method ?

An alternative analysis method is a commercial method which can be used, for a given category of products or a given type of water, to analyse or estimate the same micro-organism(s) as the one(s) measured by a standardised method but which also meets one or more of the following criteria:
– speed of analysis and/or response,
– ease of use and/or automation,
– analytical characteristics (limit of detection, specificity, etc.)
The term “alternative method” refers to the product, equipment and operating mode. It includes all the ingredients, material or not, which are required to implement the alternative method.

In the water analysis application, for detection/quantification based on a PCR method, we generally use the term “kit”, the effectiveness of which can be evaluated according to a standardised protocol.

Who is involved in AFNOR VALIDATION certification ?

AFNOR Certification (an independent and impartial organisation, operating according to EN 45011) is responsible for issuing the NF VALIDATION mark using the following systems:

1 – A Validation Commission which manages the activity (certification rules, development, promotion, appeals, etc.)
2 – Technical Boards consisting of microbiology experts who examine the applications and evaluate the results of studies
3 – Expert laboratories, approved to carry out validation studies according to current technical protocols
4 – Auditors approved to carry out audits on the production site of the methods, according to the current requirements.

What is the difference between Validation and Certification ?

The words “method validation” are very commonly used, sometimes in very diverse contexts. We talk about inter- or intra-laboratory validation or third-party validation. We talk about reference method, quick method or internal method validation…

For the NF VALIDATION mark specifically, certification covers the general process used (based on very strict rules which govern the procedure of obtaining the mark) and validation refers to the technical aspect of the procedure.
For each method concerned, a validation study (in several phases) is carried out, according to an approved technical protocol, to assess the effectiveness of the method to be validated. At the same time, the production site of the method is audited in order to guarantee the long-term reliability of the quality system. Then, once technical validation has been granted, monitoring and renewal conditions are defined within the context of the certification procedure.

Thus, it is possible for an isolated laboratory to “validate” the effectiveness of a kit on the basis of a technical evaluation protocol. However, this validation will not result in the issue of a certificate of conformity since there are no certification rules governing the implementation conditions of these tests, the decision procedure or the monitoring conditions of the method.

When an NF VALIDATION mark certification is issued, the validation study has been carried out by an approved laboratory, in accordance with predefined rules established by AFNOR Certification. These rules state in particular that the results must be examined by a group of independent experts followed by the issue of a certificate that is legally binding on AFNOR Certification as well as the right to use the NF VALIDATION mark.

FAQ

Qu’est-ce qu’une méthode alternative d’analyse ?

Une méthode alternative d’analyse est une méthode commerciale permettant d’analyser ou d’estimer, pour une catégorie de produits donnée ou pour un type d’eau donné, le(s) même(s) microorganisme(s) que celui (ceux) mesuré(s) par une méthode normalisée, mais qui présente en plus, un ou plusieurs des critères suivants :

– rapidité d’analyse et/ou de réponse,
– facilité d’exécution et/ou d’automatisation,
– caractéristiques analytiques (limite de détection, spécificité, etc.)
Le terme « méthode alternative » désigne l’ensemble produit, équipement et mode opératoire. Il inclut tous les ingrédients matériels ou non, nécessaires à la mise en oeuvre de la méthode alternative.

Dans l’application à l’analyse de l’eau, pour la détection/quantification basée sur une méthode par PCR, on parle plutôt de « kit », dont les performances peuvent être évaluées selon un protocole normalisé.

Qui intervient dans la certification NF VALIDATION ?

AFNOR Certification (organisme indépendant et impartial, fonctionnant selon la norme EN 45011) est responsable de la délivrance de la marque NF VALIDATION. Pour assurer la gestion de cette marque, elle s’appuie sur les structures suivantes :

1 – Une Commission de Validation qui pilote l’activité (règles de certification, développement, promotion, recours,…)

2 – Des Bureaux techniques composés d’experts en microbiologie, qui instruisent les dossiers et évaluent tous les résultats d’études

3 – Des laboratoires experts, qualifiés pour réaliser les études de validation selon les protocoles techniques en vigueur

4 – Des auditeurs, qualifiés pour réaliser les audits sur le site de production des méthodes, selon le référentiel en vigueur.

Quelle est la différence entre Validation et Certification ?

Les termes « validation de méthode » sont très largement usités, dans des contextes parfois très divers. On parle de validation inter ou intra laboratoire, de validation tierce partie. On parle de validation de méthode de référence, de méthode rapide ou de méthode interne…

Dans le cas précis de la marque NF VALIDATION, la certification englobe le processus général mis en œuvre (basé sur les règles très strictes qui encadrent la procédure d’obtention de la marque) et la validation désigne l’aspect technique de la procédure.
Pour chaque méthode concernée, une étude de validation (en plusieurs phases) est réalisée, selon un protocole technique approuvé, pour évaluer les performances de la méthode à valider. En parallèle, le site de production de la méthode est contrôlé afin de garantir la pérennité du système qualité. Puis, une fois la validation technique octroyée, des conditions de surveillance et de renouvellement sont définies dans le cadre de la procédure de certification.

Ainsi, il est possible pour un laboratoire isolé de « valider » les performances d’une méthode rapide, en s’appuyant sur un protocole technique d’évaluation. Cependant, cette validation n’aboutira pas à l’émission d’un certificat de conformité, puisqu’aucune règle de certification n’encadre les conditions de réalisation de ces essais, la procédure de décision, ou les conditions de surveillance de la méthode.

Lorsqu’une certification sous marque NF VALIDATION est délivrée, l’étude de validation a été faite par un laboratoire qualifié, dans le respect de règles prédéfinies par AFNOR Certification. Ces règles prévoient notamment l’examen des résultats par un groupe d’experts indépendants puis l’émission d’un certificat engageant la responsabilité juridique d’AFNOR Certification ainsi que le droit d’usage de la marque NF VALIDATION.