NF VALIDATION

Due to the growing need for quick, convenient and reliable analyses, a large number of commercial kits are used on the microbiological analysis market (food industry, water, etc.). However, the users of these kits need guarantees as to their performance.

This is why AFNOR Certification has developed a validation system for these commercial methods, the NF VALIDATION certification. This system is based on a very rigorous certification procedure to ensure that the performances of commercial kits are equivalent to those of standardized reference methods or conform to predefined performances criteria.

Alternative methods

Due to food safety requirements, frequent microbiological analyses are required at all stages of food production. The reference methods, most often described in standards, are generally expensive in terms of labor and have a relatively long implementation time (from several days to over a week).

As far as water analysis is concerned, whether it is water intended for human consumption, bathing water or spa water (…), the requirements in terms of microbiological safety are also very strict. There is a real need to use methods that are quicker and/or easier to implement than the standardized reference methods.

To meet the requirements of analytical laboratories, manufacturers have developed and put on the market commercial methods that meet the constraints of industrial production; in other words, simpler, quicker and/or more economic than the classic reference methods. They are called “alternative analysis methods”, quick analysis methods, or more commonly “kits”.

Why certification ?

In answer to needs

The emergence of rapid microbiological testing methods in the late 1980s quickly posed the problem of the reliability of the results reported and their correlation with the results of traditional standardized methods. Following requests from economic stakeholders and public authorities, AFNOR Certification therefore created an independent certification system intended to demonstrate the reliability and performance of these new test kits, today called NF VALIDATION.

A third party system

NF VALIDATION certification confirms the analytical performance of commercial methods for a given target and a defined scope, in the fields of foodstuffs and water. This certification has held a European collective mark and an associated logo: the NF VALIDATION mark. Recognized in Europe and well-known internationally, this voluntary certification demonstrates the commitment of manufacturers to provide effective, high-quality test kits which are regularly tested by an independent body, AFNOR Certification.

NF VALIDATION certification program

NF VALIDATION, it is a third party certification governed by Certification Rules which define the procedure very precisely, from submitting the validation application to obtaining the certificate. Alternative methods are evaluated in two stages:

  1. Implementation of a complete validation study, by an independent Expert Laboratory qualified by AFNOR Certification, and run according to a standardized protocol
  2. Implementation of an audit on the production site of the kit to be validated, in order to check that the quality system in place monitoring production is effective

The certification of an alternative method relates simultaneously to the test procedure recommended by the manufacturer, the test products and equipment required for implementation of the method, and to a specified scope.

The NF VALIDATION mark is issued for a period of 4 years. In addition, certified alternative methods are monitored by means of regular audits. After this 4-year period, a technical renewal study is carried out for renewing the certification.

Why choosing alternative methods certified NF VALIDATION?

NF VALIDATION certification is a voluntary process for manufacturers, who commit to demonstrating the performances of their alternative methods by means of regular testing carried out by an independent body that is AFNOR Certification. A sure-fire way to demonstrate with complete objectivity that an alternative method meets precise quality requirements.

While AFNOR Certification performs regular controls, the manufacturer must also carry out continuous internal monitoring, controlled by audits of the manufacturing facilities. Having alternative methods certified NF VALIDATION, it is a genuine commitment to a quality oriented approach! It is this high level of control that makes NF VALIDATION Certification a truly outstanding hallmark of quality.

Bet on performance: make the choice to use alternative methods certified NF VALIDATION for your analyses!

This post is also available in Français.

NF VALIDATION

En raison des besoins croissants de rapidité, de praticabilité et de fiabilité d’analyse, de nombreux kits commerciaux sont utilisés sur le marché de l’analyse microbiologique (agroalimentaire, eau ..). Or les utilisateurs de ces kits ont besoin de garanties quant à leurs performances.

C’est pourquoi AFNOR Certification a mis en place un système de validation de ces méthodes commerciales, la certification NF VALIDATION, qui assure, via une procédure très sérieuse de certification, que les performances des kits d’analyse sont équivalentes à celles des méthodes normalisées de référence ou conformes à des critères de performances attendus.

Les méthodes alternatives

Les exigences de sécurité des aliments induisent, à tous les stades de fabrication, de fréquentes analyses de contrôle microbiologique. Les méthodes de référence, le plus souvent décrites dans des normes, sont en général coûteuses en main d’œuvre avec un temps de réalisation relativement long (de plusieurs jours à plus d’une semaine).

Dans le domaine de l’analyse de l’eau, qu’il s’agisse d’eau destinée à la consommation humaine, d’eau de baignade ou d’eau thermale (…), les exigences en termes d’innocuité microbiologique sont très fortes. Pour répondre au besoin croissant du secteur de l’analyse de l’eau, des fabricants ont développés des méthodes d’analyse plus faciles à mettre en œuvre et/ou plus rapides que les méthodes de référence normalisées.

Pour répondre aux besoins des laboratoires d’analyse, des fabricants ont développé et mis sur le marché des méthodes commerciales adaptées aux impératifs d’une production industrielle, à savoir plus simples, plus rapides et/ou plus économiques que les méthodes de référence classiques. Elles sont appelées « méthodes alternatives d’analyse », méthodes rapides d’analyse, ou plus communément « kits ».

Pourquoi une certification ?

En réponse à des besoins

L’apparition de méthodes rapides d’analyse en microbiologie, à la fin des années 80, a rapidement posé le problème de la fiabilité des résultats obtenus et de leur corrélation avec les résultats des méthodes traditionnelles normalisées. A la demande des acteurs économiques et des pouvoirs publics, AFNOR Certification a donc créé une certification indépendante visant à prouver la fiabilité et la performance de ces nouveaux kits d’analyse, aujourd’hui appelée NF VALIDATION.

Un système tierce-partie

La certification NF VALIDATION atteste des performances analytiques des méthodes commerciales pour une cible donné et un domaine d’application défini, dans les domaines des aliments et de l’eau. Cette certification bénéficie d’une marque collective européenne et d’un logo associé. Reconnue en Europe et de renommée internationale, cette démarche volontaire atteste l’engagement des fabricants à fournir des kits d’analyse performants et de qualité, régulièrement contrôlés par un organisme indépendant, AFNOR Certification.

Le programme de certification

NF VALIDATION, c’est une certification tierce partie, encadrée par des Règles de Certification qui définissent la procédure de manière très précise, depuis la demande de certification jusqu’à l’obtention du certificat.

L’évaluation de la méthode alternative comprend 2 étapes :

  1. La réalisation d’une étude complète de validation, par un Laboratoire Expert indépendant qualifié par AFNOR Certification, et menée selon un protocole normalisé ;
  2. La réalisation d’un audit sur le site de production de la méthode à valider, afin de vérifier que le système qualité mis en place permet d’assurer une constance dans le temps de la production.

La certification d’une méthode alternative porte simultanément sur le mode opératoire préconisé par le fabricant, sur les produits d’essais et matériels nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la méthode, et pour un domaine d’application précisé.

La certification sous marque NF VALIDATION est attribuée pour une durée de 4 ans, assortie d’une surveillance des méthodes d’analyse certifiées par des audits réguliers. Au terme des 4 ans, une étude technique de reconduction doit être menée pour pouvoir renouveler la certification.

Pourquoi choisir des méthodes alternatives certifiées NF VALIDATION ?

La certification NF VALIDATION est une démarche volontaire, les fabricants s’engagent à prouver les performances de leurs méthodes alternatives au travers de contrôles réguliers, réalisés par un organisme indépendant, AFNOR Certification. Une façon indiscutable d’attester en toute objectivité que la méthode alternative répond à des exigences de qualité précises !

Si AFNOR Certification effectue des contrôles réguliers, le fabricant réalise lui aussi des contrôles continus en interne, vérifiés à l’occasion des audits sur site. Faire certifier NF VALIDATION ses méthodes alternatives, c’est un véritable engagement dans une démarche qualité ! C’est ce haut niveau de contrôle qui fait de la certification NF VALIDATION un véritable signe de qualité distinctif.

Misez sur la performance : faites le choix d’utiliser une méthode alternative certifiée NF VALIDATION pour vos analyses !

Ce article est également disponible en Anglais.